.st0{fill:#FFFFFF;}

The Basque Country's start-ups to watch in 2022

Startup 2022

Whether they are already established or in the making, industrial, digital or responsible, these five start-ups bear witness to the diversity of local projects. But although rooted in the Basque Country, these young innovative companies all have international ambitions.

Lynxter - The three friends who became industrialists

Lynxter logo

It is first of all the story of three friends who met on the benches of the National Engineering School of Tarbes. In 2015, during their studies, Julien Duhalde, Karim Sinno and Thomas Batigne set about creating a large 3D printer with a rather avant-garde design. Called S600D, their machine tool for additive manufacturing by material deposition is distinguished by its great versatility of usable materials. It can be used to manufacture prototypes or mini-series in thermoplastic, elastomer or ceramic thanks to interchangeable tool heads.

The Basque Country's startups to watch in 2022 1

While presenting their project at the Les Entrepreneuriales competition, they were spotted by the Airbus group, which then placed their first order when they created their company in March 2016. The three friends set up their workshop in Julien Duhalde's parents' garage in Lahonce to build their machine. What followed was a success story. In September 2017, Lynxter moved to the Technocité site in Bayonne, which hosts startups in the industrial sector. In July 2019, Lynxter completes a first round of seed funding of 1.5 million euros.

"

"We made the right choice by coming to the Basque Country, when everything was pushing us towards Toulouse and its aerospace industry. Here, Lynxter is visible: we have been able to raise funds and benefit from the unfailing support of the local authorities and the Region, whereas elsewhere, in very large cities, we would have been drowned in the mass.

Thomas Batigne // One of the founders in the pages of the daily newspaper Sud Ouest in early December 2021.

The S600D is sold for around 25,000 euros. Designed and assembled in Bayonne, it is marketed to industrialists, engineering schools, aeronautical and pharmaceutical groups and manufacturing service providers. Today, the Lynxter company has around thirty employees and is set to expand, in particular to consolidate its international ambitions. A brand new 3,500 square metre building will house the company in early 2023 on the Technocité site in Bayonne.

Lynxter - June 2021

Website: https: //lynxter.fr/ 


ZestMeUp - Facilitating conversation in the workplace

Zest logo
"

 "We offer a human resources management solution to measure employee commitment and performance. 

Christophe Bergeon // Founder with Guillaume Viry of the startup ZestMeUp in 2015.

The platform deployed by ZestMeUp in companies allows them to conduct surveys and opinion polls in a fast way to know the morale of the troops in real time. 

Managers can go further with an 'engagement meter' whose questions have been written with the help of a doctor in psychometrics. The aim is to measure levels of engagement. The solution also allows for the sharing of ideas and constructive feedback.

ZestMeUP

ZestMeUp has a team of about twenty people in Paris, a dozen telecommuting throughout France and a dozen in Biarritz who are based at the Connecteur. It is because Christophe Bergeon shares his family life between the Basque Coast and Paris that the startup has developed in both cities. ZestMeUp now has 200 clients in more than 35 countries. In the context of the Covid crisis, the theme of well-being at work has taken on a new meaning. The solution for real-time measurement of employees' state of mind and motivation is proving to be particularly useful for understanding and managing remote teams. ZestMeUp's business is therefore growing rapidly. 

Website: https: //zestmeup.com/ 


Expateo - The HR app is now targeting the international market

expateo logo
"

 "We completely pivoted our business at the end of 2018. Our international mobility digital assistance app for company employees going to live abroad was the basis for the development of our current software. It is now a single platform with dedicated interfaces for employees, HR teams and providers." 

Claire Pinatel // Director and co-founder of the startup Expateo.

Having lived in Turkey, Congo, Canada and Spain for professional reasons, Claire Pinatel imagined a new service inspired by her personal experience of moving and settling abroad. With two partners, she created the Expateao platform in 2015 with the aim of saving company employees precious time so that they don't forget anything when dealing with the administrative procedures involved in international moves. 

The Expateo project developed with the move to the ESTIA Entreprendre incubator at the Izarbel technology park in Bidart in September 2016. An initial fundraising of €350,000 was then carried out. Bank loans and shareholders' equity were included in this fundraising.

Expateo startup 2022

The Expateo team has developed a turnkey digital solution to manage the many HR aspects and procedures related to an employee's international mobility. Although Expateo's offer was initially aimed at individuals, a purely business to business strategy was finally chosen. With a new round of funding, this time of one million euros in 2021, the company has moved to a higher level. It now has about fifteen employees and is currently recruiting.

Today, Expateo is a human resources software company whose solution is used by large groups for the international mobility of their teams. One might have thought that the health crisis would have slowed down its activity, but on the contrary. "The health crisis has accelerated our activity because our tool is adapted to the movements and repatriations of families. It also allows for the organisation of teleworking, remote personnel management and assistance with tax and regulatory issues," says Claire Pinatel. Contracts have recently been signed with major French companies. Expateo's ambition is to increase its activity in France but also to expand internationally in 2023.

Website: https: //expateo.com/fr/ 


Woody Van - The responsible and comfortable road trip

Woodyvan logo

To distinguish himself from the other campervan and motorhome rental companies in the Basque Country, Mathieu Bessou has opted for a responsible and original concept. His four state-of-the-art vehicles have been fitted out with ecologically responsible wood from selective felling. In addition, the hygiene products (toilet paper, soap, sponge) are environmentally friendly and the vans are cleaned without water. Mathieu Bessou also offers tailor-made itineraries intelligently designed to limit the need for sterile and polluting return trips. 

It was at the very beginning of 2021 that Mathieu Bessou created the Woody Van company in the Lanazia business incubator in Ascain. He has been living in the Basque Country for the past ten years and has travelled extensively. This travel experience combined with a background in international trade specialising in hotels, restaurants and tourism has undoubtedly enabled him to formulate this attractive offer. Woody Van's website shows a respectful attitude and offers well thought-out travel services. 

The Basque Country's startups to watch in 2022 2
The Basque Country's startups to watch in 2022 3

Website: https: //www.woody-van.com


Butrfly - Digital au pairing

Butrfly logo
"

 "The closure of the borders for a year slowed down our activity considerably but in 2021 we experienced a growth of 70%". 

Manuela Dizier Chanfreau // founder with Anne-Claire Villaumé of theButrfly agency.

This start-up created at the beginning of 2018 on the Izarbel technology park in Bidart is now the first French digitalized platform for au pair stays.

The Butrfly agency organises "au pair stays" for young people from all over the world in French families. These young people are provided with accommodation and food and have to look after their host family's children for about 25 hours a week in exchange for a little pocket money. This concept of au pair stays is a way for them to improve their knowledge of a foreign language and to become familiar with a new culture.

Butrfly

With the creation of the Butterfly platform, Manuela Dizier Chanfreau and Anne-Claire Villaumé had the good idea of facilitating the administrative procedures for these stays, but also the selection of families and candidates as well as their networking. Today, the platform has 25,000 subscribers. "One third are families, two thirds are young people, almost all of them French, but also French families living abroad," explains Manuela Dizier Chanfreau. 

Two other competing platforms share this market with Butrfly, which is nevertheless the only French one. "For the past fifteen months we have had a greater sociological diversity of host families. The young people come mainly from the United States, Northern Europe, Spain and Canada," notes Manuela Dizier Chanfreau. With four employees, the Butrfly startup is now a small company whose objective for 2022 is to consolidate its activity. 

Website: https: //www.aupairbutrfly.com


For more information, a partnership or a quote to boost your turnover on the Internet, contact us here.
You can also visit Vincent Biard's website.


Vincent Biard

The author of this article

Vincent Biard has been working for the press and in communication for twenty years and is now a journalist for the local and economic press. He also provides services related to the Internet and social networks, training and consulting in communication. You can also find him on his website cairn-communication.fr.

Boost your web strategy!

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked

{"email":"Email address invalid","url":"Website address invalid","required":"Required field missing"}

Discover our free trainings to optimize your company's
digital marketing.

.st0{fill:#FFFFFF;}

Les startups du Pays basque à suivre en 2022

Startup 2022

Qu’elles soient déjà confirmées ou en devenir, industrielles, digitales, responsables, ces cinq startups témoignent de la diversité des projets locaux. Mais bien qu’enracinées au Pays basque, ces jeunes entreprises innovantes ont déjà toutes des ambitions internationales.

Lynxter – Les trois copains devenus industriels

Logo Lynxter

C’est d’abord l’histoire de trois copains qui se rencontrent sur les bancs de l’école nationale d’ingénieurs de Tarbes. En 2015, lors de leurs études, Julien Duhalde, Karim Sinno et Thomas Batigne se lancent dans la réalisation d’une grande imprimante 3D à la conception assez avant-gardiste. Baptisée S600D, leur machine-outil de fabrication additive par dépôt de matière se distingue par sa grande polyvalence de matériaux utilisables. Elle permet de fabriquer des prototypes ou des miniséries en thermoplastique, élastomère ou céramique grâce à des tête-outils interchangeables.

Les startups du Pays basque à suivre en 2022 1

Alors qu’ils présentent leur projet lors du concours Les Entrepreneuriales, ils sont repérés par le groupe Airbus qui leur passe ensuite une première commande dès la création de leur entreprise en mars 2016. Les trois copains installent leur atelier dans le garage des parents de Julien Duhalde à Lahonce pour y construire leur machine. La suite est une histoire à succès. En septembre 2017, la société Lynxter s’installe sur le site bayonnais de Technocité qui accueille des startups du secteur industriel. En juillet 2019, Lynxter boucle une première levée de fonds d’amorçage d’1,5 million d’euros.

« Nous avons fait le bon choix, en venant au Pays basque, alors que tout nous poussait vers Toulouse et son industrie de l’aérospatial. Ici, Lynxter est visible : nous avons pu lever des fonds et bénéficier du soutien indéfectible des collectivités locales et de la Région, alors qu’ailleurs, dans de très grandes métropoles, nous aurions été noyés dans la masse »

Thomas Batigne  // L'un des fondateurs dans les pages du Quotidien Sud Ouest début décembre 2021.

La S600D est vendue environ 25 000 euros. Conçue et assemblée à Bayonne, elle est commercialisée auprès d’industriels, écoles d’ingénieurs, groupes aéronautiques et pharmaceutiques ou prestataires de fabrication. Aujourd’hui, l’entreprise Lynxter compte une trentaine de salariés et devrait s’agrandir notamment pour asseoir ses ambitions internationales. Un bâtiment tout neuf de 3 500 mètres carrés accueillera l’entreprise début 2023 sur le site de Technocité à Bayonne.

Lynxter - Juin 2021

Site web : https://lynxter.fr/ 


ZestMeUp – Pour faciliter la conversation dans l’entreprise

Logo zest

 « Nous proposons une solution de gestion des ressources humaines pour mesurer l’engagement des collaborateurs mais aussi la performance » 

Christophe Bergeon  // Créateur avec Guillaume Viry de la startup ZestMeUp en 2015.

La plateforme déployée par ZestMeUp dans les entreprises leur permet de réaliser des sondages et des études d’opinions d’une manière rapide pour connaître le moral des troupes en temps réel. 

Les managers peuvent aller plus loin avec un « engageomètre » dont les questions ont été rédigées à l’aide d’un docteur en psychométrie. Le but est alors de mesurer les niveaux d’engagement. La solution permet aussi de partager des idées et des feedbacks constructifs.

ZestMeUP

ZestMeUp rassemble une équipe d’une vingtaine de personnes à Paris, une dizaine en télétravail un peu partout en France et une dizaine à Biarritz qui sont installées au Connecteur. C’est parce que Christophe Bergeon partage sa vie familiale entre la Côte basque et Paris que la startup s’est développée sur les deux  villes. ZestMeUp compte aujourd’hui 200 clients situés dans plus de 35 pays. Avec le contexte de la crise du Covid, la thématique du bien être au travail a pris un nouveau sens. La solution de mesure en temps réel de l’état d’esprit des salariés et de leur motivation s’avère être particulièrement utile pour comprendre et gérer des équipes à distance. L’activité de ZestMeUp est donc en pleine croissance. 

Site web : https://zestmeup.com/ 


Expateo – L’appli RH vise désormais l’international

Logo expateo

 « Nous avons complètement pivoté notre activité fin 2018. Notre application d’assistance digitale de mobilité internationale pour les salariés d’entreprises qui vont vivre à l’étranger est à la base du développement de notre logiciel actuel. C’est maintenant une plateforme unique avec des  interfaces dédiées aux salariés, aux équipes des ressources humaines et aux prestataires » 

Claire Pinatel  // Dirigeante et cofondatrice de la startup Expateo.

Ayant vécu en Turquie, au Congo, au Canada et en Espagne pour des raisons professionnelles, Claire Pinatel a imaginé un nouveau service inspiré de son expérience personnelle ponctuée de déménagements et d’installations à l’étranger. Avec deux associés, elle a créé la plate-forme Expateao en 2015 avec l’objectif de faire économiser un temps précieux aux salariés d’entreprises pour qu’ils oublient rien lors des démarches administratives inhérentes aux déménagements internationaux. 

Le projet Expateo s’est développé avec l’installation au sein de la pépinière ESTIA Entreprendre de la technopole Izarbel de Bidart en septembre 2016. Une première levée de fonds de 350 000 € a alors été réalisée. Des emprunts bancaires et des fonds propres d’actionnaires étaient intégrés à cette levée de fonds.

Expateo startup 2022

L’équipe d’Expateo a mis au point une solution digitale clé en main pour gérer les nombreux aspects RH et démarches liées à la mobilité internationale d'un collaborateur. Si dans un premier temps l’offre d’Expateo s’adressait aux particuliers, une stratégie uniquement business to business a finalement été choisie. Avec une nouvelle levée de fonds mais cette fois d’un million d’euros en 2021, l’entreprise est passée à un niveau supérieur. Elle rassemble aujourd’hui une quinzaine de salariéset des recrutements sont en cours.

Aujourd’hui, Expateo est une société éditrice de logiciel de ressources humaines dont la solution est utilisée par grands groupes pour la mobilité internationale de leurs équipes. On aurait pu croire que la crise sanitaire aurait ralenti son activité mais au contraire.  « La crise sanitaire a accéléré notre activité car notre outil est adapté aux mouvements et aux rapatriements des familles. Il permet aussi l’organisation du télétravail, la gestion du personnel à distance et l’aide sur les sujets fiscaux et réglementaires » assure Claire Pinatel. Des contrats ont été récemment signés avec des grandes entreprises françaises. L’ambition d’Expateo est d'accroître son activité en France mais aussi de se développer à l’international en 2023.

Site web : https://expateo.com/fr/ 


Woody Van – Le road trip responsable et confortable

Logo woodyvan

Pour se distinguer des loueurs de camping-cars et vans aménagés du Pays basque, Mathieu Bessou a misé sur un concept responsable et original. Ses quatre véhicules dernier cri ont été agencés avec du bois d'aménagement éco responsable provenant de coupes sélectives. De plus, les produits d’hygiène (papier toilette, savon, éponge) sont respectueux de l’environnement et le nettoyage des vans se fait sans eau. Et puis Mathieu Bessou propose des itinéraires sur-mesure pensés intelligemment pour limiter les allers & retours stériles et polluants. 

C’est au tout début de l’année 2021 que Mathieu Bessou a créé l’entreprise Woody Van au sein de la pépinière d’entreprises Lanazia d’Ascain. Installé au Pays basque depuis une dizaine d'années, il a auparavant pas mal baroudé. Cette expérience du voyage combinée à une formation dans le commerce international spécialisé dans l’hôtellerie, la restauration et le tourisme lui a sans doute permis de formuler cette offre attractive. Le site web de Woody Van témoigne d’un bel état d’esprit respectueux et propose aussi des prestations de voyages bien étudiées. 

Les startups du Pays basque à suivre en 2022 2
Les startups du Pays basque à suivre en 2022 3

Butrfly – Les séjours au pair digitalisés

Logo Butrfly

 « La fermeture des  frontières durant une année a fortement ralenti notre activité mais en 2021 nous avons connu une croissance de 70% » 

Manuela Dizier Chanfreau //  fondatrice avec Anne-Claire Villaumé de l’agence Butrfly.

Cette start-up créée début 2018 sur la technopole Izarbel à Bidart est maintenant la première plateforme française digitalisée de séjours au pair.

L’agence Butrfly organise les « séjours au pair » de jeunes du monde entier dans des familles françaises. Logés et nourris, ces jeunes  doivent s’occuper des enfants de leur famille d’accueil environ 25 heures par semaine en échange d’un peu d’argent de poche. Ce concept de séjours au pair est un moyen pour eux de  perfectionner la connaissance d’une langue étrangère et de se familiariser avec une nouvelle culture.

Butrfly

Avec la création de la plateforme Butterfly, Manuela Dizier Chanfreau et Anne-Claire Villaumé ont eu la bonne idée de faciliter les démarches administratives de ces séjours mais aussi la sélection des familles et des candidats ainsi que leur mise en relation. Aujourd’hui la plateforme compte  25 000 inscrits. «  Un tiers de famille, deux tiers de jeunes, des familles françaises en quasi-totalité mais aussi des  familles françaises installées à l’étranger » précise Manuela Dizier Chanfreau. 

Deux autres plateformes concurrentes se partagent ce marché avec Butrfly qui est néanmoins la seule française. «  Depuis quinze mois nous avons une plus grande diversité sociologique des familles d’accueil. Les jeunes viennent principalement des Etats-Unis, d’Europe du nord, d’Espagne et du Canada » note Manuela Dizier Chanfreau. Comptant quatre salariés, la startup Butrfly est maintenant une petite entreprise dont l’objectif 2022 est la consolidation de son activité. 

Site web : https://www.aupairbutrfly.com


Pour des informations, un partenariat ou un devis pour booster votre chiffre d’affaires sur Internet, contactez-nous ici.
Retrouvez également le site Internet de Vincent Biard.


Vincent Biard

L'auteur de cet article

Travaillant pour la Presse et dans la communication depuis vingt ans, Vincent Biard est aujourd’hui journaliste pour la presse territoriale et économique. Il réalise également des prestations liées à l’internet et aux réseaux sociaux, des formations et des missions de conseil en communication. Retrouvez le également sur son site cairn-communication.fr.

Boostez votre stratégie web !

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked

{"email":"Email address invalid","url":"Website address invalid","required":"Required field missing"}

Découvrez nos formations gratuites pour optimiser le
 marketing digital de votre entreprise.